276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Extremely well-drawn characters… the plot is carefully assembled… the writing is so good… I loved this story !

Sometimes she wanted her husband of thirty-three years to clap her cheerfully on the back and say words to the effect of: My darling - knock the world dead!I'm struggling to finish it but that's only because I haven't had time to download another few more books on my kindle.

And now, walking up the path to St Barnabus's in her Matalan fleece, shoulders hunched against a decidedly fresh breeze, was definitely one of those times. I haven't read the previous book by this author and found that there were a lot of characters to keep track of and I found the 3 main characters were not particularly different and or interesting. As one by one, careers are ended, marriages destroyed and no one is beyond suspicion, the three friends decide enough is enough. This can be read as a stand alone, however, I personally liked having read the first one beforehand as I already knew the protagonists personalities and relationships. Sitting in the conservatory with her after-lunch cup of tea she tried to rake her thoughts in the same way as she'd planned to rake leaves, but whenever she gathered ideas from one thought, along came a gust of another idea, scattering them again.It was a bit long winded but this is a new author and I am curious to see what happens in book three, mainly due to the trio. I am hoping the next book in this series, if there is one, will go back to all the things that I loved about the first book. There’s an underlying theme of change that ties in neatly with the ‘under new management’, as the retired ladies struggle to accept difference in the education environment since they were working there and also struggle with changes in their home lives – each of Thelma, Liz and Pat having some version of marital problems going on in the background of their reluctant investigation.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment